Down to the Core

L.R.S. Down to the Core

Release Date: 21-03-2014
Genre: Melodic Rock

Tracklisting: Our Love To Stay; Livin’ 4 A Dream; I Can Take You There; Never Surrender; Almost Over You; Shadow Of A Man; Universal Cry; To Be Your Man; Down To The Core; I Will Find My Way; Waiting For Love; Not One Way To Give.

Introducing L.R.S. featuring Tommy La Verdi (21 GUNS), Josh Ramos (THE STORM, HARDLINE) and Michael Shotton (VON GROOVE, AIRTIME).

Started initially as a way to bring back to the public the amazing vocal talent of Tommy La Verdi, a singer which came to the attention of the fans on the fabulous 21 GUNS debut album "Salute" in 1992, the whole project morphed into a power band trio when two other well known musicians: guitar player Josh Ramos and drummer Michael Shotton were brought into the picture by the album producer Alessandro Del Vecchio (HARDLINE).

The writing sessions were fast and steady, with Del Vecchio managing all contributions from the band members – who lived in different places - and offering a number of his own writings and co-writings to the band, which was anyway able to develop a distinct sound in the tradition of JOURNEY / THE STORM, with hints of Canadian AOR - think mid 80's TRIUMPH.

“I felt honored when Serafino Perugino, Frontiers Records President, offered me the opportunity to return to the homeland of my family and to work with people I respect artistically”, says Tommy La Verdi. “My only complaint is that it went by so fast. I will be happy to continue making many records with Alessandro and Frontiers Records in the future! One the songs on the album is called "I Will Find My Way" and when I got lost while going for a fast little walk in the forest of Somma Lombardo before going into the studio, that song was suddenly my favorite… 8 hours later, it was nice to know that Alessandro and Josh were actually worried about me. We all became friends so quickly, it was very sad to leave each other after we finished recording and filming the videos. I really would love to get this band on the road and play these songs in front of a live audience. We just need to make sure that Frontiers doesn't book any of the shows close to the forest!”

Josh Ramos adds: “It was great to work with Alessandro. I got to know him first through e-mail, then when I met him in person it was like I already knew him, nice person, great singer, producer, keyboard player and cook, Tommy is a very funny guy, interesting person, sometimes intense, but that's by being in the business so long and having to deal with so many things. Mike is also a funny guy, very talented drummer and vocalist. Wish we could spend more time together!”

Michael Shotton states: “I am exceptionally proud to be a part of this project. The songs are punchy with great hooks and performances. Since the first time the three of us actually met in person and unbelievable vibe created instantaneously between us. It was like we had been playing in a band for years. That’s a rare thing… egos in park and 0 to 60 in seconds. It was amazing and I really think fans of our previous works and new fans will see and feel that! I really look forward to hearing how our older fans are going to enjoy this piece of work. I think it totally kicks!!!!!”

The resulting album promises to be a shining example of today's AOR music with soaring vocals from a superb vocalist who comes back into the well deserved spotlight and some exquisite guitar playing from Ramos. This is an album not to be missed and an AOR highlight for early 2014!

LRS will also play as a live unit and their participation to MelodicrockFest 2014 in Chicago has been already confirmed with more shows which are being confirmed, including in Europe.

Tommy La Verdi - lead vocals
Josh Ramos - guitars
Michael Shotton – drums, backing vocals

Alessandro Del Vecchio keyboards, hammond organ, backing vocals
Nicola Mazzucconi bass, fretless bass
Anna Portalupi bass, fretless bass
Jamie Browne bass