Black Eye
Feat. vocalist David Readman. Debut album in May. First single out now!



Frontiers is pleased to present Black Eye, a new musical project centered around the vocal talents of David Readman (Pink Cream 69). The band's self-titled debut album will be released on May 6, 2022. Today, fans can get their first taste of music from the band with the release of the single and video 'The Hurricane'. 

Watch the video HERE:

Pre-order/save "Black Eye" HERE: 

Musically, the driving principle behind Black Eye was to craft a melodic metal album with big choruses, powerful rhythms, and huge solos that would support the powerful voice of Readman, a world class singer. The band's name is a reference to the Black Eye Galaxy (also known as the Devil's Eye Galaxy), a spiral galaxy with a pinwheel shape that is visible in the constellation of Coma Berenices and is well known among amateur astronomers as it is clearly visible even with small telescopes.

The concept for Black Eye came together when Serafino Perugino, President and Head of A&R for Frontiers Records, came up with the idea to pair Readman and producer/guitarist/songwriter Aldo Lonobile together to craft a melodic metal album built upon the foundation of Readman's powerful voice. Produced by Lonobile (Secret Sphere, Archon Angel, Sweet Oblivion), who also plays guitar on the album, Black Eye is comprised of guitarist Luca Princiotta (DORO), who also participated in the songwriting, drummer David Folchitto (ex- Fleshgod Apocalypse, Stormlord), and bassist Andrea Arcangeli (DGM). Additionally, Antonio Agate (arranger for many artists, including Secret Sphere, Timo Tolkki's Avalon, Sweet Oblivion ft. Geoff Tate, and more) and Mattia Gosetti (Agarthic) provide keyboards and orchestra arrangements.

Readman has enjoyed a long-running career due to his impressive vocal talents. An English singer best known for being the vocalist of hard rock band Pink Cream 69, who worked with Frontiers over the years on multiple releases, and former vocalist of progressive metal band Adagio. Additionally, Readman released a solo album in 2007 and was also part of German guitarist Alex Beyrodt's band Voodoo Circle, from 2008 to 2016, returning in 2020. In 2015, two projects featuring Readman on lead vocals were revealed. The first, Room Experience, was a melodic rock project led by Italian musician Gianluca Firmo and they released a self-titled album released in May 2015. The second, Almanac, was a new heavy metal band led by former Rage guitarist Victor Smolski. In September 2016, Readman reformed the David Readman Band, his solo band that he had founded in Germany some years back. Never one to rest on his laurels, in 2017, it was announced that Readman had joined New Wave of British Heavy Metal legends Tank. In October 2017, another new project came out called Pendulum of Fortune, featuring Readman with Bodo Schopf, Franky R., and Vladimir Shevjakov.

Fans of European melodic metal masters, like Masterplan and Edguy, and everyone who has celebrated Readman's voice over the years in his various endeavors will find much to be pleased with here!

"Black Eye" Tracklisting:
1. The Hurricane
2. Space Travel
3. Break The Chains
4. No Turning Back
5. Darkest Night
6. Midnight Sunset
7. Under Enemy's Fire
8. The Landing
9. Don't Trust Anyone
10. When You're Gone
11. Time Stand Still

David Readman - Vocals
Aldo Lonobile - Guitar
Luca Princiotta - Guitar
Andrea Arcangeli - Bass
David Folchitto - Drums

Keyboards & Orchestral Arrangements - Antoni Agate, Mattia Gosetti

Produced by: Aldo Lonobile
Executive Producer: Serafino Perugino