The Showdown

Genre: Heavy Metal
Format: Digipak

Catalogue Number: FR CD 485
Barcode: 8024391048528

Release Date: 05-11-2010


The first chapter of Jorn Lande and Russell Allen’s collaboration, “The Battle” was unleashed in September 2005 with unanimous acclaim from fans and critics alike.

Many websites and magazines named it “Record of the Year”. It’s success made it one of the most popular releases ever in Melodic Heavy Metal, thanks to beautiful, sweeping piano and keyboards, heavy guitar riffs, virtuoso guitar solos, hooky choruses and the vocal talents of two of the finest Heavy Metal vocalists around.

In 2007 the second chapter entitled “The Revenge” was released and met again with an amazing reaction from press and fans. Heavier and with a tighter production, thanks to the involvement of Dennis Ward (PINK CREAM 69, ANGRA, PLACE VENDOME) at the mix, the album excited the many fans who loved the first chapter.

Russell Allen is the singer of the American Progressive Metal band SYMPHONY X, who have released six studio albums and one live record so far. More than once SYMPHONY X received accolades such as "Best Progressive Power Metal Band Worldwide" or awards for the "Best Progressive Metal Album of the Year".

Highly rated MASTERPLAN and vocalist JORN LANDE has a vocal capability that is world class, distinctive, rich and spanning a large range. He is in high demand and has appeared as guest or sung for such bands and projects as AVANTASIA, ARK, THE SNAKES and many others. He is also a well-known solo artist with various successful studio albums released, since the debut "Starfire" in 1999.

For the third instalment the songs were written again by guitar sensation MAGNUS KARLSSON (PRIMAL FEAR, STARBREAKER) with cover art once again designed for this project by Rodney Matthews (DIAMOND HEAD, MAGNUM, ASIA etc.). “The Showdown” was mixed this time by Achim Kohler (PRIMAL FEAR, KISKE/SOMERVILLE) and is probably the heaviest and most straight ahead release of the lot. Still it does include all the trademarks that made the project so popular among the fans and all the hooklines and the lead vocal trades are still there and show the amazing abilities of two of the world’ most popular Hard Rock / Heavy metal singers.

Jorn Lande: vocals
Russell Allen: vocals
Magnus Karlsson: guitars, bass, keyboards
Jaime Salazar: drums