Timo Tolkki’s Avalon
The Land of New Hope (CD + DVD Edition)

Timo Tolkki’s Avalon The Land of New Hope (CD + DVD Edition)

Release Date: 17-05-2013
Genre: Heavy Metal

Tracklisting: Avalanche Anthem, A World Without Us, Enshrined in My Memory, In the Name of the Rose, We Will Find a Way, Shine, The Magic of the Night, To the Edge of the Earth, I’ll Sing You Home, The Land of New Hope.

It’s A.D. 2055 and most big cities of planet earth are either flooded with tsunamis or destroyed by earthquakes and fire. The whole infrastructure and communication system has broken down. The destruction is total. A small group of survivors leaves for a quest to find a sacred place known as “The Land Of New Hope”. It is an old fairytale that has been told since decades but very few has actually ever believed of its existence. They travel far on a journey that is full of dangers and come across a seer who guides them further. She explains to them that “The Land Of New Hope” does exist but it is guarded by a Keeper and only those who are pure in heart can pass him. They wander further towards their ultimate destiny….

Former Stratovarius main songwriter and guitarist, Timo Tolkki has been silently preparing his musical revenge. Following a call in the summer 2012, from Frontiers Records President Serafino Perugino, Tolkki quickly cancelled all plans and started writing a new album from scratch following an original concept discussed years ago between the artist and Perugino. The idea was to have a magniloquent metal / rock opera with some cinematic orchestrations to bring back the Stratovarius original sound in a more symphonic and grandiose fashion. Tolkki managed to gather some of the most renowned singers around, with particular focus on one of the most talented young female singers Elize Ryd (AMARANTHE) who has the lion’s share of the lead vocals on the album. With Frontiers full support and Serafino Perugino’s executive production, “The Land of New Hope” opens a new chapter in Tolkki’s career and perspectives, with the artist regaining full artistic credibility with his own music and performances.

A stunning artwork was specially created for this project by Stanis W. Decker which will be released in 2 versions – regular cd and deluxe edition with a 30 minutes documentary “making of the album” and 2 promotional videoclips.

Guitars & Bass: Timo Tolkki
Vocals: Michael Kiske (UNISONIC), Elize Ryd (AMARANTHE), Rob Rock (IMPELLITTERI), Russell Allen (SYMPHONY X), Sharon Den Adel (WITHIN TEMPTATION), Tony Kakko (SONATA ARCTICA).
Keyboards: Jens Johansson (STRATOVARIUS), Derek Sherinian (BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION), Mikko Härkin (SONATA ARCTICA)
Drums: Alex Holzwarth (RHAPSODY of FIRE)
Orchestrations: Sami Boman
Opera Vocals: Magdalena Lee